vampire-diaries-logo

I’m a huge fan of the Twilight Series, but when I finished those books, a void was left and I needed something to fill it.  So, I started a search online that lead me to a series called The Vampire Diaries.  The Vampire Diaries are written by LJ Smith, and she began writing them in 1991.  The first 4 books were all released in the 90’s, and then LJ started a new trilogy in 2008.  The story is about a beautiful girl (Elena) who is torn between two vampire brothers (Stefan and Damon).

Now The CW is developing The Vampire Diaries for television.  The pilot will be wrapping by the end of this week.  Some interesting cast choices have already been made.  The most noteable actor to join the show in the pivotal role of Damon is Ian Somerhalder of “Lost” fame.  Also, Nina Dobrev (who stars on Degrassi as Mia) has landed the role of Elena.  Interesting choice since Elena is supposed to be a platinum blonde with blue eyes, and Nina has almost black hair with dark brown eyes.  The CW sure is loving snagging those Degrassi stars.  They stole Shanae Grimes to play Annie Wilson on the new 90210 and now Nina.

Ian Somerhalder as evil vampire brother, Damon

Ian Somerhalder as evil vampire brother, Damon

Nina Dobrev as the beautiful and popular Elena

Nina Dobrev as the beautiful and popular Elena

Also cast on the show is Zach Roerig (former daytime star from As the World Turns and One Life to Live.  Zach will play Matt, Elena’s ex boyfriend who is the most popular guy in school and a jock.

Zach Roerig as popular jock, Matt

Zach Roerig as popular jock, Matt

Paul Wesley has been cast as the good vampire brother, Stefan.  Paul has appeared on several shows including 24, Army Wives, and American Dreams.

Paul Wesley as heroic vampire, Stefan

Paul Wesley as heroic vampire, Stefan

Katerina Graham will be playing the psychic character, Bonnie.  Katerina has appeared in several films, including the most recent Zac Efron flick “17 Again”.  She has also appeared on TV on several shows including The OC and Hannah Montana.

Katerina Graham as psychic, Bonnie

Katerina Graham as psychic, Bonnie

Party girl, Vicki, will be played by Kayla Ewell who has also appeared on The OC, Bones, Boston Public, Freaks and Geeks, and The Bold and the Beautiful.

Kayla Ewell as party girl, Vicki

Kayla Ewell as party girl, Vicki

Candice Accola, who is pretty new on the scene, has been cast as Elena’s former friend turned enemy, Caroline.  Candice doesn’t have a huge resume, but she has appeared on the CW’s Supernatural.

Candice Accola as Elena's frenemy, Caroline

Candice Accola as Elena's frenemy, Caroline

I’m really looking forward to this show.  The CW just keeps pumping out the kind of shows I would love.  What do you think?  Are you looking forward to this show?

Comments
  1. mrred says:

    Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

  2. VampsYo says:

    No! Bonnie is a read head! Elena is blond and blue-eyed! wtf!?!?

  3. Kay says:

    Why aren’t they following the book?! The men are perfect, but the women? What were they thinking with Elena!? She is suppose to be a blonde rich snot. It looks like they tried to make her into a Bella.

    • craignj says:

      I couldn’t agree more! I’m disappointed that they aren’t following the book, but I’m still excited to see the show. I also noticed that they changed the name of the town for the show. In the book the town is Fell’s Church. I forget what it is on the show, but it’s definitely not Fell’s Church. I don’t get why they make some of these minor changes.

  4. Sam says:

    One thing that I have definitely learned from the Twilight mania is that you DON”T mess with the fans,no matter what!!! And it paid off for them as they cashed in the popularity of the books and made the movies and stars the craze they are right now. CW could have done the same if they had repected the wishes of fans of The Vampire Diaries.Is it so hard to find a blonde girl with blue eyes,a girl with heart-shaped face and curly red hair and most importantly,a guy with green eyes???!!!Huh,they could have made these TV stars a bigger phenomenon than Twilight and all they have tried to do is alienate the fans!

  5. not twilight! says:

    ok personalyi think there trying tro make this liketwilight bucause S.M. didnt want a tv show so they went out and found the nxt best selling vampire books!

    • Shadow says:

      Okay Vampire Diaries are soooooooooooooooo not like the Twilight Series so if you think they are go back and read them again. I can see why SM didnt want the Twilight books to be on tv HELLO their already bestselling books and movies. VAMPIRE DIARIES ARE NOT AT ALL LIKE TWILIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • molly tessitore 2nd post says:

        i totally agree with you shadow, as for you…not twilight…..get your facts straight. just because it’s a vampirre saga, it dosnt mean they are anything alike!!

  6. molly tessitore says:

    ok when i heard that there was going to be a tv series for the vampire diaries, i was so siked. Now that i see the cast, im soooo disapointed. Elena has Blonde Hair and Blue eyes. Bonnie is A red head with a heart shaped head. And she is not suppost to be a latin sex kitten. Oh and stefon is suppose to have longish black hair, and damon short black. I cannot belive L.J. Smith would agree to this!!!!!!! The fans are outraged. Im not even sure i want to watch the show. I might burst out in tears.

    • mehdo says:

      The girl who plays Bonnie is not latin at all she’s actually of African and Carcasion decsent. Father is from Liberia Africa and mother is from Russia.

  7. Linda says:

    Are you kidding? Have you seen the trailers? They look great. Even though Elena isn’t going to be a blonde, I will watch. The actress portraying her is beautiful. (Maybe they should have had the actress bleach her hair blonde and pleased everyone). So what if the characters in the book aren’t exactly a match to the TV series? The trailers are awesome, and Damon–OMG!! They couldn’t have picked a better actor to play him. He is georgeous, mysterious, sexy and deadly all in one package. Stefon is romantic and sincere and very good looking. What did bother me is the actress they picked to play Bonnie. She is way off the mark, but I think once I start watching the series, I will forget all about what could have been and just enjoy the series. I think it will be just as good (if not better) than Twilight.

  8. Melina says:

    Thanks for the sinopsis.
    When I ended the Twilight Saga, I started liking the Vampire World (I’m very coward and never liked those kind of things). So I needed something to read in my holidays, something related to Vampires. I had seen the trailer of the Vampire Diaries, and discovered it was based in a Book, so I started looking for it. I found out is was a saga, and that a friend of mine (a Twilight fan who I know from the Internet) was reading it. I asked her about it, I wanted to know if it was a Horror saga or not. She told me it was a love story, simmilar to Twilight, so I started reading it.
    I’m finishing the third book, and I don’t know which brother I would choose… Because Stefan is lovely, but Damon is so attractive!
    Very good cast, I believe in the magic and miracles of make-up and computers… They will be transformed into the characters, no doubt about it!

  9. Melina says:

    Thanks for the sinopsis. When I ended the Twilight Saga, I started liking the Vampire World (I’m very coward and never liked those kind of things). So I needed something to read in my holidays, something related to Vampires. I had seen the trailer of the Vampire Diaries, and discovered it was based in a Book, so I started looking for it. I found out is was a saga, and that a friend of mine (a Twilight fan who I know from the Internet) was reading it. I asked her about it, I wanted to know if it was a Horror saga or not. She told me it was a love story, simmilar to Twilight, so I started reading it.
    I’m finishing the third book, and I don’t know which brother I would choose… Because Stefan is lovely, but Damon is so attractive!
    Very good cast, I believe in the magic and miracles of make-up and computers… They will be transformed into the characters, no doubt about it!

  10. molly tessitore 2nd post says:

    ok, so i few months ago i was all “omfg noooooo!” about the who television series. I was very wrong. i absolutly love the show. Damon is perfect!!! Stefan is breathtaking!!! Matt is amazing!!! Vicki, beautiful. Even bonnie is pretty good. im still pissed at the choice for Elena, but ill get over by the time next season starts. Still not sure how a 16 year old boy is going to fall in love with a little white kitten….i hope that they dont fuck it up. Im also disapointed to see that there has been no attracion shown between Bonnie, And Damon!!

  11. purple lover says:

    i dont get it what is with the characters they are so different than the book its disgusting!I thought it was going to be horrible but actually I love the show!!Also what I wonder is where is Meredith????

  12. Marianne says:

    I must say that I love The Vampire Diaries. But unfortunate I saw the tv-series before I read the book, and I don’t understand a thing. My first question was: “who is Meredith?” and “Is Aunt Judith “Aunt Jenna?”
    And Elena. She’s supose to be blond!!! Buut, I love TVD anyway 😛

Leave a Reply

